South Dakota Senators and Representative – Support Net Neutrality

This letter was sent on December 5th, 2017 on behalf of over 100 South Dakotan businesses and individuals asking their senators and representative to maintain current net neutrality protections.

Dear Senators Thune, Rounds and Representative Noem-

As the holidays approach, millions of Americans are shopping online, many purchasing products and services from South Dakota businesses and entrepreneurs like us. Free and open internet has made South Dakota a vibrant home for businesses. An open internet encourages entrepreneurship, drives innovation and supports a healthy economy, even if customers live hundreds or thousands of miles away.

For a rural state like South Dakota, equal access to information and customers is essential to keep our state growing and innovating. With strong net neutrality protections, the internet is an open marketplace where any business can compete, allowing individuals to start companies easily (even if they are based in rural South Dakota), market their products across the country and connect with customers.

Disastrously, the Federal Communication Commission (FCC) released a draft order that would end this open commerce by repealing the current net neutrality rules and eliminating the protections that keep the internet free and open for America’s businesses and consumers.

Without these rules, internet service providers will favor certain websites and e-businesses by putting the ones that can pay in fast lanes and slowing down, or even blocking, others. Businesses may have to pay a toll just to reach customers.

The majority of businesses in South Dakota are small and medium-sized businesses who would be unable, or unwilling, to pay for access. This type of “pay to play” model would further discourage South Dakotans from starting a new business. An internet without net neutrality protections would be the opposite of an open market, with a few powerful cable and phone companies picking winners and losers instead of consumers.

Today, we the over 100 undersigned businesses and individuals in South Dakota, urge you to publicly lobby the FCC to maintain the current net neutrality rules and Title II classification of broadband internet.

The current rules provide the protections necessary to protect net neutrality and ensure the internet remains a free and open marketplace that encourages innovation and supports robust competitions.


With energy and optimism,

South Dakota Businesses:

MarketBeat, Matthew Paulson

9 Clouds, Scott Meyer, Allen Day

Zwather, LLC, Robert Mehling

Ileana Perez, Ileana Perez

Brinks Web Solutions, Phil Brinks

Raclette Corner, Sonja Hoffmann

Eyes Up Sports, Erika Hessman

45 Degrees Marketing, Jacob Marek

Little House Living, Merissa Alink

Unique Reflections Photography, Brittany Gades

Undercast Media, Eric Dew

Creations3, Erik Ault

Boss’ Pizza and Chicken, Jeremy Seefeldt

Game Chest, LLC, Amanda Wermers

Media by JP, Jeff Pickett

Wooden Legs Brewing Company, Seth Koch

Meyer Orthodontics, David Meyer

Lemonly, John Meyer

Fire Bros. Fireworks, Andy Jorgensen

The Bonus Round Bar and Inside & Out, Isak Daniel Anderson

NovakMedia, Joshua Novak

Nash-Keller Media, LLC, Trevor Nash-Keller

kh designs, Kyle Herge

Solfam International, Inc., Brandon Solberg

Pivot Companies, Dan Grossman

Learn Create Build Academy, Inc., Shane Thomas

SoDak Animation, Cable Hardin

Runia Resources, LLC, Amanda Runia

Studio 52, Emily Pieper

Canine Country Club, Kayce Engen

Inanovate, Inc., Robert Nelson

Exposure Gallery and Studio, Zach DeBoer

John Nelson Photography, John Nelson

Mama Peacock, LLC, Sarah Dorn


South Dakotans:

Lisa Brouwer

Lisa Groon

Kristina Johnson

Thadeus Giedd

Melissa Heckel

Caitlin Pisha

Blake Gades

Nick Schmeichel

Tyler Sean Rau

Laura Foiles

Chad A. Meirose

Troy Kongerbo

James Humpula

Lindsey Holmquest

Jase Kraft

William Ross

Nancy Hopp

Brandon Callenius

Paul Meyer

Ryan Quam

Michael Todd

Sarah Carnes

Ashley Sorenson

Joshua Westwick

Rachel Speiser

Jaden Miller

Aaron Lemon

Valissa Farrell

Barbara Looney

Kimberly Caldwell

Sarah Klongerbo

Tracy Hummel

Derek Steiger

Amy Colgan

Kasey Wahl

Bradley Lawrence

Matthew Berg

Jena Christianson

Daniel Spangler

Rachel Speiser

Bryce Kummer

Heidi Gullickson

Stephanie Martin

Jill Ayres

Wendy Quam

Leah Brink

Anne Beulke

Gabrielle Metzger

William deBlonk

Janet Jeppesen

Cathy Chapin


Molly O’Connor

Ashely Ballou-Bonnema

Patrick J. Anderson

Darla Biel

Jacquelyn Jacobsma

Angie Baszler

Kasee Hieb

Rae O’Leary

Charlene Miller

Paul Baggett

Amanda Quam

Andrew Brynjulson

Natasha Carlson

Travis Rhoades

Brett Hanes

Morgan Hauck

Posted in Community